Echoing the Truth

A rather distasteful man chose to attack Gary North: and North, as part of his response, wrote:

LIVING IN MY SHADOW

He describes himself on his site as postmillennial. That is my view, too. There are not many of us. Of those still living, I am the best known. I go to church with the man who is second-best known, with whom I have jointly published for 30 years. I published the major books of the scholar who is third-best known. I published the books of David Chilton, who died two decades ago. My wife still owns the copyrights and publishes his books.

This man has been living in my theological shadow for years. Maybe he felt compelled to show me that he is in no way beholden to me intellectually. Given his career so far, this is surely to my advantage.

While praying that my character will be better than that of North’s unnamed critic, I am certainly willing to admit that I live in North’s (and Bashen’s, and Rushdoony’s, and Calvin’s, and Augustine’s, and Paul’s, and Christ’s) theological shadows. Indeed, much of my writing here in Across the Stars is simply a commentary and expansion of North’s work.

Why not do something more original?

I am uninterested in novelty for novelty’s sake, and I have no need of making original mistakes, when the shining truths discovered by someone else is sitting there, ready to be put to work.

I have had enough of

  • bloated atheistic lies (and secret thirst for unfettered State power, led by a might Man-God, Above-the-Law politician),
  • unwarranted premillennial fears (secretly mixed with laziness), and
  • sterile amillennial futility (where the wealth of the just is to be given to the wicked)

I am interested in seeing the Kingdom of God take root and spread acoss this world, as Jesus commanded. And it is the postmillennialist who is willing to take God at His word, and put his muscle into obeying Christ’s explicit command.

I do admit, though, that I would love to see far more hardworking postmillennialists start to retake more and more of the world for Christ and His Rule.

Sure, expand on Gary North’s solid economic work if that’s where your strength’s lie (or just put it to profitable work in your life…), but I am confident that there are many more areas of life – from science to law, from childcare to agriculture, from zoology to philosophy – lying fallow, waiting for a man with a Godly vision and the willingness to work the land, day after day, for a great and invigorating reward.

Say not ye, There are yet four months, and then cometh harvest? behold, I say unto you, Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest.
 – John 4:35

Therefore said he unto them, The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few: pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he would send forth labourers into his harvest. – Luke 10:2

In the total expanse of human life there is not a single square inch of which the Christ, who alone is sovereign, does not declare, ‘That is mine!’ ~ Abraham Kuyker

The Bible is authoritative on everything of which it speaks. Moreover, it speaks of everything. ~ Cornelius Van Til

Leave a Reply

