Darwinian Fairytales

A book recommendation:

This week, I read Matthew Ridley’s book, The Evolution of Everything. The timing was providential. It was exactly the book that I needed to write Part Five of my book, Christian Economics: Teacher’s Edition, which I am posting daily here. I have been waiting to find a book like Ridley’s for 35 years . . . to refute.

He believes in Darwinian evolution. I mean, he really believes it. He thinks it governs everything. He is also a disciple of Hayek, Mises, and even Ron Paul. So, his account of economics is accurate. His account of genetics is not. He ignores the book that I recommend to anyone who calls himself a Darwinist: David Stove’s Darwinian Fairytales (1995). Stove’s demolition of the book that Ridley relies on, The Selfish Gene, is one of the most devastating intellectual attacks I have ever read. It is also one of the funniest. What makes it even more devastating is that Stove is a Darwinist with respect to species other than man.

To save time, the Amazon link to Darwinian Fairytales is here.

 

Leave a Reply

